The Master of Science in Nursing program recently received a 10-year reaccreditation from Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education.

Music student Matthew Bobela received the Mayors Distinguished Citizen Award at the annual Mayors Thanksgiving Dinner at the St. Joseph Civic Arena last fall. He received the award in recognition of his music service for area Catholic churches.

“Eclipse,” a film collaboration of students and faculty that was shot over the summer of 2018, was selected for screening at the Fault Line Film Festival at Southeast Missouri State University and the Kansas City FilmFest International. Jeff Stover, assistant professor of theatre and department chair, served as executive producer and was an actor. Toby Lawrence, assistant professor of cinema, was the director and Thomas Brecheisen, assistant professor of theatre, completed post-production and was the visual effects and editing supervisor.

Missouri Western was ranked no. 2 in a ranking of 15 of the Most Affordable Bachelor’s Degrees in Animation by the Affordable Schools website,

Dr. Judy Grimes, associate vice president and dean of students, was awarded the Student Affairs Administrators in Higher Education Region IV-W AVP/Senior Level Professional Award for her service at Missouri Western.

Dr. Gary Clapp, associate professor of chemistry, received the 2018 E. Ann Nalley Regional Award for Volunteer Service to the American Chemical Society. The award recognizes the volunteer efforts of those who have contributed significantly to the goals and objectives of the ACS through their regional activities.

Claudia Baer, student employment coordinator, was re-appointed to the national board of directors for the National Student Employment Association. While attending their annual conference in Milwaukee last fall, Baer earned her Student Employment Essentials National Trainer Credentials. She was also presented with two national awards at the conference, the 2018 Jim Campbell Rookie of the Year Award and the 2018 President’s Innovation Award.

The Center for Entrepreneurship, directed by Annette Weeks ’78, reached a milestone this past fall – it served its 500th business. A February 2019 report shows 537 businesses, representing 221 jobs created, 108 jobs retained and 47 new businesses. The center opened in the fall of 2014.

Capt. Clint L. Dickerson, assistant professor of military science, has been selected to Major in the Military Police Corps.

Winners in the Graduate School’s 3 Minute Thesis Competition were Jenna Anderson, first place; Mariah Maudlin, second; and Phoebe Pyrtle, third.

Dr. Cary Chevalier, professor of biology, received the E. Sydney Stephens Award at the Missouri Natural Resource Conference. The annual award is the highest honor presented by the Missouri chapter of The Wildlife Society to one of its members who has developed, applied, administered or completed an especially significant program of management, education, research, or communication that results in an outstanding contribution to the wildlife resources of Missouri.

Four students, Mazzie Boyd, Austen Hall, Engoma Fataki and Michala Pulliam were invited to attend the 2019 Missouri Governor’s Student Leadership Forum on Faith and Values for three days in Jefferson City. The forum included the Governor’s Prayer Breakfast.

The 2019 Drum Major for Justice Award recipients include student Eugenia Wallace, employee Dr. Kay Siebler, professor of English; and community member Kimberly Warren ’92, CEO and founder of MidCity Excellence.