Computer science students bring home the hardware
Students brought home a record number of awards from the Association of Information Technology Professionals National Collegiate Conference and Career Fair in St. Louis last spring. The 31 students earned two first-place awards, two second-place awards, two third-place and four honorable mentions in competitions at the conference.

Missouri Western’s AITP students swept the awards in the Enterprise Systems category, with Alex Davis taking first, Trey Scarborourgh second, Elayne Colvin third, and Lisa Ye, honorable mention.

In the IT Research Posters category, the team of Drake Nelson, Ryan James, Evan Miller and Yacine Bensouna took first place for their Boy Scouts of America Jamboree Tent Reservation System. Josh Royle, Casi Paolillo, Isaiah Miller and Zachary Czarnecki took third for their Buchanan County Emergency Response Management System. Three graduate students received honorable mention in the category: Darshan Rahashekar for a Specialty Industries project, and Hitesh Allam and Sanhith Chinta for Match by Sketch.

In the Web Application Development category, the team of Royle, Paolillo, Isaiah Miller and Czarnecki took second place for their emergency response project; while Nelson, James, Evan Miller and Bensouna received honorable mention for their BSA project.

In addition to competing, Missouri Western joined the University of Missouri-St. Louis, Missouri State University, and the AITP St. Louis and Capitol Chapters in co-hosting the event.

Connie Hecker, assistant professor of computer science, chaired the poster competition, which was new to the conference. J. Evan Noynaert, assistant professor of computer science, was one of the judges for the poster competition, which was sponsored by Herzog.

Student Aung Moe Kyaw from Myanmar (formerly Burma) was invited to perform in a special concert in Washington, DC in April 2017 in support of the fourth annual Myanmar Music Festival that was held in Myanmar in June. Kyaw is the only Myanmar-raised pianist currently studying music at an American university. Front, from left, Erina Iwasaki, associate director of the Myanmar Music Festival; Mrs. U Aung Lynn; and Min Lee. Back, from left, Derek Mitchell, former U.S. Ambassadors to Myanmar; Kyaw; U Aung Lynn, Myanmar Ambassador to the U.S.; Kimball Gallagher, founder and director of the Myanmar Music Festival; and Dr. Nathanael May, associate professor of music.

  • Matt Scholz, a member of Missouri Western’s Shotgun Club, competed in the ACUI Collegiate Clay Target national championships this past spring. In trap, he shot 96/100 targets, tying for 100th out of 820. In skeet, he shot 87/100 targets, placing him around 250th out of the 860. The following week, at a trap meet hosted by Missouri Western, he shot 100 out of 100, earning the High Over-All Award. Student Taylor Houx earned High Over-All for females at the home meet.
  • Students in a sculpture class had their entry, Square Dome, accepted into the 2017 St. Joseph Sculpture Walk. The sculpture was set up downtown in May and will be on display for a year.
  • Senior Sara Maxey was named Outstanding HIM Student at the Missouri Health Information Management Association during its annual meeting this past spring. The award recognizes the best of the new talent being trained in Missouri’s health information programs. Recipients must have a minimum GPA of 3.5 and be involved in student activities, leadership and attendance at MoHIMA events.
  • Congratulations to Missouri Western 2016-17 retirees:
    • Andrew McGarrell, library, 29 years
    • Catherine Lawson, Department of Economics, Political Science and Sociology, 21 years
    • Dale Krueger, Craig School of Business, 29 years
    • David Jones, physical plant, 14 years
    • Debbie Johnson, Campus Printing and Design Services, 28 years
    • Deborah Becker, Department of Computer Science, Mathematics and Physics, 15 years
    • Joanne Katz, Department of Criminal Justice, Legal Studies and Social Work, 26 years
    • Marilyn Hunt, Department of Communication and Journalism, 20 years
    • Marsha Dolan, School of Nursing and Health Professions, 21 years
    • Ronnie Hodge, Physical Plant, 13 years
  • Missouri Western honored 10 award winners at its annual ceremony in May 2017. Award recipients include:
    • Missouri Western Foundation Award for Teaching Excellence – Dr. Pam Clary, assistant professor of social work and director of the BSW program; Dr. Shauna Hiley, professor of chemistry; and Dr. Mark Mills, associate professor of biology.
    • Missouri Western Foundation Award for Staff Service to Students – Susan Garrison, director, Center for Academic Support.
    • Missouri Western Foundation Award for Staff Service to Colleagues – Hawley Rumpf, procurement card/employee reimbursement, Accounting Services.
    • Missouri Western Foundation Award for Staff Service to University – Stacy Turner, special credit programs coordinator, Western Institute.
    • Missouri Western Foundation Dr. James V. Mehl Award for Outstanding Faculty Scholarship – Dr. Pi-Ming Yeh, associate professor of nursing.
    • James J. Scanlon Award for Staff Service to the Community – Brett Esely, associate director of athletics for external relations.
    • James J. Scanlon Award for Faculty Service to the Community – Dr. Teddi Deka, professor of psychology and Honors Program director.
    • Student Employee Supervisor of the Year – Jessica Frogge, administrative coordinator, Student Government Association.
  • The Student Government Association held their annual spring awards banquet, which included the swearing-in of incoming SGA president Kyle Fuson, a junior business major from St. Joseph, and vice president Reece Christensen, a sophomore political science major from Cameron, Missouri. Organizational award winners were as follows:
    • Most Outstanding Academic & Departmental Organization: The Wildlife Society
    • Most Outstanding Fraternity: Phi Delta Theta
    • Most Outstanding Sorority: Alpha Sigma Alpha
    • Most Outstanding Special & Social Interest Group: The Wildlife Society
    • Most Outstanding Faith-Based Organization:  Catholic Newman Center
    • Glen Marion Community Service Award: Phi Delta Theta
    • Best New Organization: Legal Studies Association
    • Most Active Organization: The Wildlife Society
    • Spirit of the Griffon Award: Alpha Sigma Alpha

Individual award winners:

  • Dean Hoff Outstanding Achievement Award: Cecilia Tackett, freshman; Paul Granberry, sophomore; Mon’tra Qualls-Woods, junior; Alec Guy, senior
    • Outstanding Contribution to Student Senate: Kyle Fuson
    • Outstanding Contribution to Executive Board: Gillian Evans
    • Student Organization Advisor of the Year: Dr. Cary Chevalier, The Wildlife Society