Apply Today!

Presidential search committee schedules first meeting

The search committee to select the next president of Missouri Western State University will hold its first meeting at 5:30 p.m. Tuesday, Oct. 9 in the Blum Student Union Private Dining Room. The meeting is open to the public.

The search committee is comprised of Board of Governors members, students, faculty, staff, administrators and community members. The 23 members include:

Board of Governors: Dave Liechti, Al Purcell, Debbie Smith, Student Governor Paul Granberry III

Students: Austen Hall

Faculty: Dr. Mike Cadden, Dr. Jennifer Hegeman, Dr. Mark Mills, Dr. Dan Shepherd

Administrators: Josh Looney, Carey McMillian, Latoya Muhammad, Dr. Bob Willenbrink

Staff: Kathy Kelly, Fred Nesslage

Community Members: Drew Brown, Pete Gray, Todd Meierhoffer, Charlie Shields, Kylee Strough, Julee Thompson, Bob Wollenman and Seth Wright

The committee is seeking to replace Dr. Robert Vartabedian, who has announced his plans to retire on July 1, 2019 after 11 years as Missouri Western’s president.

Meetings of the presidential search committee will be posted as public meetings, but portions of meetings may be closed under exemptions authorized by the Missouri Sunshine law.

Missouri Western State University is a comprehensive regional university providing a blend of traditional liberal arts and professional degree programs. The university offers student-centered, high quality instruction that focuses on experience-based learning, community service, and state-of-the-art technology. Missouri Western is located in St. Joseph, Mo., and is committed to the educational, economic, cultural and social development of the region it serves. Visit