griffon media awardMay 1, 2023–Griffon Media at Missouri Western State University celebrated a successful 2022-2023 school year during their awards banquet on April 20. Seven students were honored for earning state and national recognition for their work with Griffon News, The Griffon yearbook and KGSM-TV, and 12 additional awards were presented to students and an alumnus. 

Griffon Media received the following state and national honors during the 2022-2023 school year:

Missouri College Media Association

speaker at awards banquet

Dr. James Carviou, Griffon Media advisor

Griffon Media earned one first place finish in the annual Missouri College Media Association awards:

  • Newspaper Sports Photography: Griffon News, Arianne Boma, senior from Harrisburg, Illinois

Other honorees in the state competition include: 

  • Yearbook Sports Photography, 3rd Place: The Griffon, Boma
  • Yearbook Sports Photography, Honorable Mention: The Griffon, Boma
  • Yearbook Student Life Design, 2nd Place: The Griffon, Boma
  • Yearbook Sports Design, Honorable Mention: The Griffon, Boma
  • Yearbook Portrait Design, 3rd Place: The Griffon, Boma 
  • Yearbook Overall Theme Development, 3rd Place: The Griffon, Boma
  • Newspaper Sports Column, 2nd Place: Griffon News, Harry Loomis, senior from St. Charles, Missouri
  • Newspaper Sports Photography, 2nd Place: Griffon News, Boma
  • News Website, Honorable Mention: Griffon News staff
  • Video, 2nd Place: KGSM-TV, Zoe Jane, senior from Kansas City, Missouri
  • Video, Honorable Mention: KGSM-TV, Loomis

Society for Collegiate Journalists

students receive award

Boma, Lashbrook and Forness are honored for placing first in a national competition.

Griffon Media placed first in five contest categories in the Society for Collegiate Journalists: 

  • Newspaper Photo Essay: Griffon News, Patty Lashbrook, freshman from Faucett, Missouri, Boma and Thomas Forness, senior from Cameron, Missouri, for “Cultures Connect at 2022 International Fair”
  • Newspaper Sports Photography: Griffon News, Boma for “Basketball Shows Promise in Exhibition”
  • Television Feature Package: KGSM-TV, Loomis for “Send Silence Packing”
  • Yearbook Overall Excellence: The Griffon
  • Yearbook Best Concept: The Griffon

Other honorees in the competition included: 

  • Newspaper News Story, 3rd Place: Griffon News, Forness for “Professor Produced Podcast: PhD Paranormal”
  • Newspaper Sports News Story, 3rd Place: Griffon News, Loomis for “Andrew Carter named Director of Athletics”
  • Newspaper Feature Photography, 2nd Place: Griffon News, Boma for “Chiefs Start Hot as Football Season Kicks Off”
  • Newspaper Sports Photography, 3rd Place: Griffon News, Boma for “Mules Buck Griffons in Double OT”
  • Television News Show Overall Excellence, 2nd Place: KGSM-TV
  • Television News Package, 4th Place: KGSM-TV, Jaden Miller, sophomore from Cameron, Missouri, for “Spring Advising”
  • Television Feature Package, 4th Place: KGSM-TV, Zoe Jane for “Bluffwoods Renaissance Festival”
  • Yearbook Terry Vander Heyden Award for Coverage of the Year, 2nd Place: The Griffon
  • Yearbook Writing, 2nd Place: The Griffon
  • Yearbook Photography, 2nd Place: The Griffon

National College Media Association Film Festival

  • Video Sports Package, 2nd Place: KGSM-TV, Trinity Knapp, senior from Shawnee, Kansas

In addition, the following awards for the year were presented::

  • Griffon Media Editor of the Year: Lashbrook
  • Griffon Media Staffer of the Year: Natalie Kissinger, junior from Glenvil, Nebraska
  • Griffon Media Executive Award, Griffon News: Anastasia Harwood, senior from Jefferson City, Missouri
  • Griffon Media Executive Award, Griffon yearbook: Hannah Owens, senior from Belleville, Kansas
  • Griffon Media Executive Award, KGSM-TV: Madison Spath, senior from Chillicothe, Missouri
  • Griffon Media Rising Star Award: Kendra Simpson, senior from St. Joseph
  • Griffon Media Most Improved Award: Kenan Bjelevac, senior from St. Louis, Missouri
  • Dr. Ann Thorne Heart of a Griffon Journalist Award: Harwood
  • Griffon Media Impact Award: Gary Smith, adjunct instructor and 2014 alumnus
  • Society for Collegiate Journalists National Leadership Honors
    • Medal of Merit: Loomis
    • Certificate of Merit: Forness and Bjelevac

Griffon Media is advised by Dr. James Carviou, associate professor of journalism and digital media.

Missouri Western State University is a student-centered learning community preparing individuals for lives of excellence through applied learning. Missouri Western is located in St. Joseph, Mo., and is committed to the educational, economic, cultural and social development of the region it serves. Visit