The Board of Governors at Missouri Western State University met in special session to discuss the process for selecting the next president of Missouri Western.

The Board voted to appoint a search committee of up to 24 people, chaired by David Liechti, chairman of the Board of Governors. Three other governors will join Liechti on the committee: voting members Al Purcell and Debbie Smith and student representative Paul Granberry III. The remainder of the committee will be comprised of faculty, staff, administrators and members of the community.

The search committee will evaluate presidential applicants and help identify finalists to bring to campus for interviews. The ultimate decision on hiring the next president will be made by the Board of Governors.

The Board also asked Dr. Jeanne Daffron, provost emerita, to serve as an executive liaison to the search committee, providing appropriate administrative support.

Finally, the Board voted to hire a search firm to help guide the process. Missouri Western will issue a request for qualifications to search firms in the near future.

Dr. Robert Vartabedian, Missouri Western’s president since 2008, will retire next July.

Missouri Western State University is a comprehensive regional university providing a blend of traditional liberal arts and professional degree programs. The university offers student-centered, high quality instruction that focuses on experience-based learning, community service, and state-of-the-art technology. Missouri Western is located in St. Joseph, Mo., and is committed to the educational, economic, cultural and social development of the region it serves. Visit