News Releases

Bushman Planetarium presents 'Totality' before total solar eclipse

25 July 2017
25 July 2017, Comments: Comments Off on Bushman Planetarium presents ‘Totality’ before total solar eclipse

planetariumThe Bushman Planetarium at Missouri Western State University will present “Totality,” a new show about eclipses, July 31 through Aug. 21, the day that St. Joseph will experience more than two-and-a-half minutes of a total solar eclipse.

“Totality” is all about eclipses, from lunar to partial solar. It covers how they occur and what happens when they do. It looks back to the proof of general relativity and forward to upcoming eclipses and where to witness them.

Planetarium tickets must be purchased in advance, either online at www.missouriwestern.edu/planetarium or in person at Agenstein Hall, room 140 during regular business hours (8 a.m. to noon and 1 to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday). Tickets are $5 for adults, $3 for children, students, seniors and military.

“Totality” will be shown:

  • Monday, July 31: 7 p.m.
  • Wednesday, Aug 2: 7 p.m.
  • Tuesday, Aug. 8: 7 p.m.
  • Thursday, Aug. 10: 7 p.m.
  • Saturday, Aug. 12: 10 a.m.
  • Sunday, Aug. 13: 7 p.m.
  • Tuesday, Aug. 15: 7 p.m. and 8 p.m.
  • Thursday, Aug. 17: 8 p.m.
  • Friday, Aug. 18: 7 p.m. and 8 p.m.
  • Sunday, Aug. 20: 2 p.m., 3 p.m. and 4 p.m. (the 4 p.m. showing is sold out)
  • Monday, Aug. 21: 9 a.m. and 10 a.m.

In addition, there are other planetarium shows scheduled:

  • 2 p.m. Thursday, July 27, “Children’s Special”
  • 10:30 a.m. Friday, July 28, “Cardboard Rocket”
  • 11 a.m. Thursday, Aug. 3, “Wonders of the Universe”
  • 11 a.m. Tuesday, Aug. 8, “Sea Monsters”

Missouri Western State University is a comprehensive regional university providing a blend of traditional liberal arts and professional degree programs. The university offers student-centered, high quality instruction that focuses on experience-based learning, community service, and state-of-the-art technology. Missouri Western is located in St. Joseph, Mo., and is committed to the educational, economic, cultural and social development of the region it serves. Visit www.missouriwestern.edu.

Comments are closed.