Apply Today!
48-Hour Film Festival2018-04-19T19:14:01+00:00

Important Dates

Friday, Oct. 20
Registration Deadline
Friday, Oct. 27
Kickoff Meeting
Sunday, Oct. 29
Submission Deadline
Thursday, Nov. 2
Screening and Awards Ceremony

The Department of Theatre, Cinema and Dance and the Griffon Film Society present the sixth annual 48-Hour Film Festival, open to anyone with a passion for filmmaking. Teams will create short films Oct. 27-29 with a festival screening and awards ceremony at 7:30 PM on Thursday, Nov. 2, at Potter Theatre on MWSU campus. Teams must register by 9 PM on Friday, Oct. 20. Registration Packet

The film competition energizes the filmmaking process and challenges filmmakers to put their visions into action within a short time frame. The result is a whirlwind weekend of filmmaking with the satisfaction of a finished product at the end. The competition is open to all area high school and university students and the local community.

 Two “Mixers” will happen so that teams can find crew and crew can find teams.
Mixer 1: October 15, 5:30PM in Spratt Hall 201
Mixer 2: October 20, 7PM in Spratt Hall 201

 As always, community teams are welcome, but our department will be unable to provide any equipment.

The Competition

The filmmaking weekend will start with a kick-off meeting at 6 p.m. Friday, Oct. 27 in Spratt Hall, room 201. Each team will randomly select a genre for their project. Organizers will also announce a prop, line of dialogue and a character that must be included in each film. All writing, shooting, editing and adding a musical soundtrack must occur within the 48-hour window from 6 p.m. Oct. 27 through 6 p.m. Oct. 29.

The Awards Ceremony

Nov. 2, 2017 at 7:30 p.m.
Potter Theatre

During the red carpet awards ceremony and screening, prizes will be awarded to the top two teams selected by the panel of judges as well as an audience choice award. The ceremony is free and open to the public.

Robert Hanson