Financial Aid

Missouri Western Scholarship – Philosophy and Religion

Western Excellence – Philosophy and Religion
Each year the Department of Philosophy and Religion as well as the Department of History and Geography confer between two and six Western Excellence awards. Each award is worth $500 to $1500 depending on the number of recipients. Applications for these awards are judged on a competitive basis. Applicants must be majoring or minoring in one of the programs in our two departments and have a minimum GPA of 3.25. Awards are granted yearly but are distributed on a semester by semester basis. In order to retain your award you must maintain a cumulative GPA of 3.25 and pursue an appropriate course of study in one of the major/minor fields in the History and Geography or Philosophy and Religion departments. Failure to do so will result in termination of the award.
Application Deadline: February 1st
Application Procedures: Complete the General Scholarship Application and provide a 250-300 word essay in which you outline your educational and career goals, and discuss the ways in which a course of study in history, philosophy, geography, humanities, or religion will prepare you to meet those goals. Essays for the HG & PR Western Excellence Award should be submitted with your online application. See complete scholarship requirements.

Opal Kearby Scholarship Award
Students majoring in economics, English, history, modern language, philosophy, political science, social work or sociology are eligible to apply for one of these awards.
Application Deadline: mid-November and mid-April, contact the History and Geography department for specific deadline dates.
Application Procedures: Opal Kearby Scholarship Application
Contact Information: History and Geography Department, (816) 271-5688, Dr. Jay Lemanski, (816) 271-4333,